Subscribe Now!
GannettUSA Today

Tuesday, May 02, 2006

Manalapan's Martin to face CBA

Manalapan fireballer B.J. Martin will be on the hill 345 p.m Wednesday when the Braves visit CBA in the Monmouth County Tournament. The teams play Tuesday but it's a meaningless game (more or less) for Manalapan which is out of the states and Shore Conference events, but can focus on throwing the St. John's bound Martin in search of an MCT title.

Scoring question and I don't know the answer (yet). In the Freehold-Monmouth game Monday the lead runner, put on by Monmouth starter Bobby Wyrwa, was out at the plate on an infield grounder. But the batter who reached vs. the reliever (Connors) on a fielder's choice eventually came around to score the winning run. Who gets the loss? I don't want guesses and I'm not trying to pin the loss on one pitcher or the other. I'm just trying to get it right for present and future reference. The point it a releiver's fault that the batter he faced and later scored reached when a play was made on the runner the other pitcher put on?

Anyone who answers must be quoting from a rule/scoring book (which I don't have) or be very, very educated on the matter. It's fascinating that only in baseball do situations like this crop up all the time.

It'll be a late (very late) blog tonight (or morning) as I head out to Toms River where TR East coach Bill Frank is looking for career win no. 400.



Anonymous Anonymous said...

Connors loses as his batter scored. It does not matter that he got on because of a previous batter being put out. How did TJ call it? He should have thrown a double play ball. In the same vein, if there were two outs and the runner was picked off for the 3rd out and Monmouth goes on to win, Connors would have gotten the win without throwing a pitch.

10:10 PM, May 02, 2006  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Tony - This might answer your question as to who is charged with the earned run. Hope this helps.

The accounting of earned runs is more complicated when relief pitchers are used. Each pitcher is liable for the runners he allowed on base via hit, walk, or hit by pitch even after he is pulled for a reliever. Batters who replace a previous runner on a fielder's choice are charged to the previous pitcher. Also, when considering when the inning would be over except for errors, relief pitchers are not relieved of responsibility by errors that were committed before they were brought into the game. This means that some runs may be considered earned for an individual relief pitcher but not for the team as a whole, so team earned runs are often less than the sum of the earned runs allowed by the individual pitchers.

Example 2:
Play: Pitcher 1 is pitching. Batter A reaches first on an error. Batter B doubles, scoring A. C reaches on a bunt single, with B advancing to third. Pitcher 2 relieves 2. D grounds into a fielder's choice, with B scoring and C out at second. E triples, scoring D. F grounds out, with E scoring. G strikes out. Four runs score.
In this case, the run by A is unearned because he reached base on an error. The run by B is earned and charged to 1. The run by D is also earned. Because D replaced 'C on a fielder's choice and C was originally allowed on base by 1, his run is charged to 1. The run by E is considered unearned for the team because the groundout by F should have ended the inning, but it's considered earned for Pitcher 2 because he doesn't get the benefit of the error committed while 1 was pitching.

10:21 PM, May 02, 2006  

Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home