Subscribe Now!
GannettUSA Today

Wednesday, May 09, 2007

James Hett news/via e-mail via Staten island Advandce

Farrell's Hett wins Jaques
Guard, first Lion winner since 1991, recognized for season-long consistency and leadership
Thursday, March 22, 2007

STATEN ISLAND, N.Y. -- For three seasons, James Hett's basketball accomplishments have best been defined in a team setting.

As a freshman, he led Monsignor Farrell's junior varsity to the SIHSL Tournament and CHSAA city class A championships.

As a sophomore and junior, the point guard held the reins for a pair of SIHSL varsity champions, providing ball control, creative passing, defense and, increasingly from year to year, scoring.

Now he can add Staten Island's highest individual honor to his achievements.
The Lion senior has been selected as the winner of the 59th annual Warren Jaques Award, presented to the outstanding high school boys' basketball player on Staten Island.
Hett, who was an Advance All Star in 2005-06 and will play Division I ball at Monmouth University next season, is the seventh Farrell player to win the award and the first since Chris Berntsen in 1991.

"A leader," said selection committee member Bill Sheridan. "Kids looked up to him. They let him do his thing and he rewarded his teammates by finding the open man to get points."
Hett always excelled in setting up his teammates and that didn't change this season, as his floor vision and aggressiveness keyed the Lion offense.

What did change was an added responsibility to score more, and Hett delivered as Farrell recorded a 19-8 record and won the CHSAA Staten Island division crown, earning a spot in the class AA playoffs.

The 6-foot-1 point guard was third among SIHSL players in overall scoring with 18.3 points per game and second in SIHSL games only with 21.0 points per game.

Hett's versatility made him dangerous. He made 34 three-pointers in 27 games, but his offensive strength was driving to the basket and distributing the ball.

"If they gave him the lane, he drove on them," said selection committee member Lou Anarumo. "If they collapsed on him, he dished. I liked the way he created off the dribble and his strength taking the ball to the basket. He made the right decisions. He never forced things when he went to the basket."

Hett had a season-high 29 points in Farrell's December win over St. Peter's and he continued to play his best in Farrell's biggest games.

He followed up the St. Peter's game, which he seized control of with his defense in the fourth quarter, with more clutch performances.

There were 28 points against Port Richmond and 24 against Curtis. In the SIHSL Tournament, he scored 21 points against Moore, 20 against Curtis and 21 against St. Peter's in the championship-game loss. He was a repeat selection for the All-Tournament team, having been named MVP the season before.

"Consistency," said Anarumo. "You almost knew what was going to happen when you went to the game because he's so consistent."

"Against Curtis, he dominated the end of the game," said selection committee member Jay Zieris of the 62-61 SIHSL semifinal win. "He was the reason they won."
Hett continued his standout play in the postseason. He scored 23 points in a CHSAA Intersectional win against Archbishop Molloy that advanced the Lions to the quarterfinals.
"He made everybody on the floor better," said Zieris. "In a lot of games he put his team on his shoulders."

NOTES: The Jaques Dinner, honoring Hett and girls' winner Megan Mahoney of St. Peter's, will be held at the Staaten on April 20 at 7:30 p.m. Contact Marty Doherty at 718-720-5739 or Bill Magnuski at 718-447-2868 for tickets.
Jaques Award winners 1949 - Bob (Sonny) Bosley (Curtis) 1950 - Bob Mahala Sr. (St. Peter's) 1951 - Charles Harreaus (New Dorp) 1952 - Fred Scallan (St. Peter's) 1953 - Fred Hornbuckle (New Dorp) 1954 - Tom Walsh (Augustinian Academy) 1955 - Ron Dreher (New Dorp) 1956 - Joe Kelly (St. Peter's)
Bob Larsen (Port Richmond) 1957 - Nick Bruno (Port Richmond) 1958 - Jim Albus (New Dorp) 1959 - Ray Ratkowski (Curtis) 1960 - Jack Tracy (Curtis) 1961 - Bill Murtha (St. Peter's) 1962 - Dan McDermott (Curtis) 1963 - Bobby Fisher (Curtis) 1964 - Tim Jones (Curtis) 1965 - George Allen (McKee) 1966 - Jim Cronin (St. Peter's) 1967 - Jack Donovan (St. Peter's) 1968 - Bill Grimes (Tottenville) 1969 - Barry McCombs (Curtis) 1970 - Brien O'Neill (Farrell) 1971 - John Engles (St. Peter's) 1972 - John Engles (St. Peter's) 1973 - Larry Cubas (Curtis) 1974 - Kevin Tucker (Curtis) 1975 - John Semerad (Farrell) 1976 - Ken Page (McKee) 1977 - Ken Page (McKee) 1978 - Bob Mahala Jr. (Farrell) 1979 - Steve Rossiter (Farrell) 1980 - Mike Ahearn (Susan Wagner) 1981 - Ron Chase (Curtis) 1982 - Tim Malson (St. Peter's) 1983 - Greg Pedro (St. Peter's) 1984 - Mike Dunn (St. Peter's) 1985 - Lamont Harris (McKee) 1986 - Mickey Holbert (McKee) 1987 - Neil Smith (New Dorp) 1988 - Ken White (Farrell) 1989 - Joe Castronovo (St. Peter's) 1990 - Rommel Santos (Moore) 1991 - Chris Berntsen (Farrell) 1992 - John Burke (St. Peter's) 1993 - Erik Sorensen (Curtis) 1994 - Herb Lewis (Curtis) 1995 - Sandy Brock (Curtis) 1996 - Gregg Testaverde (St. Joseph Sea) 1997 - Tim Hyland (Curtis) 1998 - Cliff Wilford (Moore) 1999 - Andrew Wisniewski (St. Peter's) 2000 - Nigel Wyatte (Curtis) 2001 - Jahquan Hines (Susan Wagner) 2002 - John Baiano (St. Peter's) 2003 - Lawrence Borha (MSIT) 2004 - Kyle McAlarney (Moore) 2005 - Kyle McAlarney (Moore) 2006 - Monte Cumberbatch (Pt. Richmond) 2007 - James Hett (Farrell)
© 2007 Staten Island Advance
© 2007 All Rights Reserved.


Anonymous Anonymous said...

Sounds like Mike Shipman has a battle on his hands for the starting point guard position!

8:59 PM, May 09, 2007  

Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home